This is a sad love story that will break your heart a little more with each panel.
— Robert Draper Nerdlocker

 

THE STORY 

10 years have passed since Stephen Thorn’s fiancée vanished without a trace, and he has grown into a prominent, if bitter, victim’s rights crusader. Despite the cold trail and lack of leads, he stubbornly refuses to give up the search. And then…he begins to hear her voice in the strangest of places.

Pursued by his own organization and questioning his sanity, Stephen embarks on a grisly journey to save his long-lost love. As he unravels the truth of her disappearance, the body count rises and Stephen finds himself ensnared in a trap that had been set for him long ago…

 

RattlerHeader.jpg
Reading the book is a fairly white-knuckle experience, and it’s partly because McNamara knows how to manipulate the reader well
— Greg Burgas Comic Book Resources

THE PROJECT

The purpose of this kickstarter is to publish our finished graphic novel, The Rattler, and share it with you. The 96-page story will be presented in grayscale with red highlights and printed in a 6 by 10 inch softcover edition. In the vein of John Carpenter and Dario Argento, The Rattler is an atmospheric thriller that delivers strong characterization, a dark sense of humor and moments of abject terror. 

The story was inspired by true events that occurred to me on a road trip years ago. Greg and I have spent over a year perfecting the script and artwork to create the best storytelling experience possible. The project means a lot to both of us and we are very excited to share it with our kickstarter supporters. 


1511851_10202301992766168_32315996_o.jpg
a truly fantastic piece of work from McNamara that delivers on all fronts. Hinkle’s art really elevates the story.
— Cody Ferrell Comic Book Therapy

THE CREATORS 

Jason McNamara is a Xeric award-winning comic book writer and self-publisher. His previous titles include Short-HandFrom Mars with LoveThe Martian ConfederacyFirst MoonContinuity and Less Than Hero. When he’s not talking about himself in the third person, he’s dressing up like Michael Myers and scaring his neighbors. No really, he does that. See for yourself at Jason-McNamara.com

Greg Hinkle received his Bachelor’s of Fine Arts in Traditional Illustration from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco. After self publishing 3 mini-comics, he was featured as a guest artist in the pages of Image Comics’ GLORY. He is also the artist for the upcoming Image Comics series, AIRBOY, written by James Robinson. Greg lives in the greater Los Angeles area with his wife and dog. 

Assets 29.jpg
This is a fantastic book...McNamara is one of the best horror writers I have read in years.
— Dead As Hell Podcast

WHY KICKSTARTER? 

The mainstream comic publishing world is geared towards superheroes and licensed properties; an original horror book is a hard sell these days. Rather than spending our time and energy knocking on closed doors, we'd rather spend it reaching our audience directly through Kickstarter. 

This approach allows us to fully manage the project and control the way our work is presented.  More importantly, it allows us to engage directly with every one of our readers. For creative types like ourselves, that is a huge incentive. 


p_085_panel_3.jpg
This book was pure excitement from the first page to the last!
— Rob Caprilozzi @ comicmonsters.com

Our Kickstarter goes live on March 27th. When it goes up please consider becoming a donor or sharing it with your friends. Every pledge, Facebook share and retweet helps us get closer to our goal of publishing the Rattler. Thanks for supporting independent comic book creators! 

if my review hasn’t made the grim nature of THE RATTLER obvious, the pledge titles will.
— Lyz Reblin Ain't it Cool News
The cover to the Rattler. 

The cover to the Rattler.